International Visitors

Key Facts about Australia for International Visitors

Key Facts More Info
Official Name Commonwealth of Australia Member of the British Commonwealth
Capital City Canberra
Main Cities Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Hobart, Darwin.
Area 7,682,300 sq. km
Climate Ranges from tropical to temperate. Most of Australia is arid land or desert. The extreme north is tropical; the south-east and south-west more Mediterranean.
Population 21,575,341
Ethnic Make-up Nationals from over 140 countries. Predominantly European descent. 40% of population are immigrants or children of immigrants; 25% were born overseas.
Language English Aboriginal and other languages are spoken at home and are available in government offices, banks, shops, etc.
Government Democratic Federal system comprising six states and two territories. The states are: New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Victoria, Western Australia and Tasmania. The territories are the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory.
Electricity 240 volts Three pronged plugs used. Adaptors needed for overseas appliances.
Telephone Australia’s country code is 61. State area codes are NSW & ACT: 02; VIC & TAS: 03; SA, WA & NT: 08; QLD: 07
Currency Australian Dollar
Time Difference Australia has three time zones. Western: GMT +8 hrs Central:GMT +9.5 hrs Eastern:GMT +10hrs